

# Integrative & Comparative Biology

Volume 62 Number 4 October 2022 academic.oup.com/icb





# Integrative and Comparative Biology

academic.oup.com/icb

Society for Integrative and Comparative Biology

Integrative and Comparative Biology (ICB) publishes high-impact, peer-reviewed articles in integrative, comparative and organismal biology. Many papers communicate the proceedings of symposia and other events at the annual meeting of the Society for Integrative and Comparative Biology. However, we also publish forward-looking review, synthesis, perspectives and empirical articles selected by the editorial board. More information about this second category of papers is available at: https://academic.oup.com/icb/pages/direct\_submission.

### Editor-in-Chief

Ulrike Müller, California State University, Fresno

### Managing Editor & Social Media Coordinator

Suzanne C. Miller

### Associate Editors

Elizabeth Addis, Gonzaga University Andrea Liebl, University of South Dakota Corinne Richards-Zawacki, University of Pittsburgh Sharlene Santana, University of Washington Ajna Rivera, University of the Pacific

### **Assistant Editors**

**Divisional Representatives** 

Animal Behavior (DAB)

Erica Westerman (2026), University of Arkansas

Comparative Biomechanics (DCB)

David Hu (2023), Georgia Tech

Comparative Endocrinology (DCE)

Maria G. Palacios (2024), Centro Para el estudio de Sistemas Marinos

Comparative Physiology and Biochemisty (DCPB)

Devaleena Pradhan (2025), Idaho State University

Ecoimmunology and Disease Ecology (DEDE)

Joel Slade (2025), California State University, Fresno

Ecology and Evolution (DEE)

Ben Dantzer (2023), University of Michigan

Evolutionary Developmental Biology (DEDB)

David Platchetzki (2023), University of New Hampshire

Invertebrate Zoology (DIZ)

Dan Speiser (2025), University of South Carolina

Neurobiology, Neuroethology, and Sensory Biology (DNB)

Petra Lenz (2023), University of Hawai'i at Mānoa

Phylogenetics and Comparative Biology (DPCB)

Hannah Wood (2024), Smithsonian Institute

Vertebrate Morphology (DVM)

Janneke Schwaner (2026), University of California, Irivine

Morgan Furze (2025), Yale School of Forestry &

**Environmental Studies** 

### Assistant Editors (non division representatives):

Christian Cox (2024), Florida International University Marianne Porter (2023), Florida Atlantic University Jeff Olberding (2024), University of California, Irvine Toniah Hsieh (2024), Temple University Vittoria Roncalli (2024), Stazione Zoologica Anton Dohrn Cecilia Conaco (2024), University of Philippines

Emily Taylor (2023), California Polytechnic State University

Jerry Prasong Mekdara (2024), Tufts University

Nagayasu Nakanishi (2024), Fullbright College of Arts and Sciences

### **Guest Assistant Editors (2023)**

Armita Manafzadeh, Brown University Kelly Diamond, Seattle Children's Hospital Nick Burnett, University of California, Davis Paul Schaefer (2023), Miami University

### **Editorial Reviewer**

Felipe Cunha, University of Lethbridge

### Social Media Managers

Suzanne C. Miller, SICB journals managing editor Molly Gabler-Smith, Harvard University Jason Macrander, Florida Southern College Noah R. Bressman, Wake Forest University Stacy Schkoda, NC State University Rowan Marshall, Florida Southern College Francesca Giammona, Wake Forest University Laura A. Romanovich, University of New England Amanda Hewes, University of Washington Andrew Saintsing, U.C. Berkeley Rvan Koch, Oklahoma State University

Lauren Kunselman, University of Florida

Etti Cooper, Bates College

Kaitlynn Murphy, Auburn University Brent Foster, University of Florida

## **Executive Officers, Society for Integrative and** Comparative Biology

President

Melina Hale (2023)

President-Elect

L. Patricia Hernandez (2023) Past President

Elizabeth L. Brainerd (2021)

Secretary

Michele Johnson (2024)

Program Officer

Thomas Sanger (2022)

**Program Officer Elect** 

Janet Steven (2024)

Treasurer

Miriam Ashley-Ross (2022)

Communications Editor

Molly Jacobs (2024)

Members-At-Large

Kory Evans (2025)

Marianne Porter (2023)

Marguerite Butler (2023)

**Divisional Chairs** 

DAB Chair: Avery Russell (2025)

DCB Chair: John Long (2023)

DCE Chair: Rachel Bowden (2024)

DCPB Chair: Jon Harrison (2024) DEDB Chair: David Angelini (2024)

DEDE Chair: Jim Adelman (2024)

DEE Chair: Frances Bonier (2023)

DIZ Chair: Jonathan Allen (2024)

DNNSB Chair: James Newcomb (2023) DOB Chair: Chris Martine (2023)

DPCB Chair: Samantha Price (2025)

DVM Chair: Richard Blob (2023)

Editor-in-Chief, ICB: Ulrike Müller (2024) Editor-in-Chief, IOB: Adam Summers (2025)

SPDAC Chair: Jason Macrander (2025)

Ed. Council Chair: Lisa Whitenack (2023)

BPC Chair: Nick Burnett(2025) Executive Director: Brett J. Burk

Cover image: Name of photo: A mosaic of snake photographs with background masks that were automatically generated by our Batch-Mask tool. Cover image: Photographer: John David Curlis. School of affiliation: University of Michigan.